Life Lessons · mental health · peace

Let’s talk about capacity…

I’m very open about the fact that we have been in family therapy since August of 2021. We have a wonderful therapist that works so well for our family. She always seems to just “get it.”

Well not too long ago we were talking about how depression affected me and my family. It was eye opening to see what my family felt about it. It was even more so when I told our therapist that if I weren’t lazy I’d be able to do x y and z. She said, “no Sam, you aren’t lazy. You don’t have the capacity to complete tasks.” She then proposed to me that perhaps when I don’t have the capacity that I rely more on my family. Which interestingly enough that is what my family wanted too, rather than shutting down and letting depression overcome me. They want to be there for me and to help me. Guess why? Because they LOVE me! 🤯

As we moved forward I was learning to say things like, “I don’t have the capacity to do this, can you do this for me?” To my family. It’s amazing how something so simple was able to help our family communication.

There will be times in all of our lives where we simply don’t have the capacity to deal with or do something. And that’s okay. We’d be robots if we did. Hell even the internet lags when it’s overloaded. But the healthy way to handle our lack of capacity is to communicate that to those who are important to us. It may be a friendship or a relationship or even a profession that we are lagging in. It is absolutely okay to take a step back and say, “I don’t have the capacity for this.”

A time when I had the capacity to handle the day and a time when I did not.

Leave a comment